History of the Channel Islands Horseracing Authority

The sport of horse racing is regulated in the Bailiwicks of Jersey and Guernsey by the Channel Islands Racing & Hunt Club (CIR&HC) an authority established in 1894. It was modelled on The Jockey Club, predecessor of the British Horseracing Authority, (BHA) and has always been independent of the various clubs and associations which have staged horse racing in Jersey and Guernsey. Today, racing is promoted by the Jersey and Guernsey Race Clubs in their respective Islands and the CIR&HC remains independent of both.

On 14 September 2018, the CIR&HC was incorporated by the Royal Court of Jersey as a fideicommis. On 25 October 2018, the CIR&HC delegated its regulatory functions relating to horseracing to a committee of the CIR&HC known as the Channel Islands Horseracing Authority (the "CIHA"). The CIR&HC now trades under the name of the Channel Islands Horseracing Authority.

The CIHA licenses racecourses to stage race meetings and it also has responsibility for licensing local trainers and jockeys. In addition, the regulatory body has set out comprehensive rules under which racing takes place known as The Rules of Racing. The Rules of Racing are broadly based on those applied by the BHA.

The CIHA is a full member of the European and Mediterranean Horseracing Federation (EMHF) which parallels similar federations representing Asia and the Americas, together comprising the International Horseracing Federation. A member of the CIHA sits on the executive council alongside the BHA, Irish Turf Club, France Gallop and the other members who make up the nine members of that board. In 2019, the CIHA became an associate member of the International Federation of Horseracing Authorities.

Board of the Channel Islands Horseracing Authority 

Head of Racing - Jonathan Perree 

E-mail: racing@cihorseracing.com

Tel: 07797 746 993

Head of Integrity - Michael Shenkin 
E-mail: integrity@cihorseracing.com

Tel: 07797 780 757

Head of Equine Welfare - Charles Gruchy

Other Officials 

Chief Veterinary Officer - John Hamilton, MVSc MRCVS

Handicapper - Gareth Colley 

Inspector of Courses - Jonathan Perree